Posted by: Casey Lybrand | August 4, 2010

You’re Going Places: Blog Award from Here Be Dragons!

Alannah (Agatha82) of Here Be Dragons has also been so cool as to give me a blog award — my first ever! Alannah, thank you so much! You certainly deserve this award, and I am thrilled that you thought of me as well.

The Award: You’re Going Places, Baby

Going Places Award

Going Places Award - Thank you, Alannah!

The rules

This award comes with rules. Writers love rules, right? Here they are:

1) Thank and link back to the person who gave you this award.
2) Share 7 things about yourself.
3) Pass the award along to 5 bloggers who you have recently discovered and who you think are fantastic for whatever reason!
4) Contact the bloggers you’ve picked and let them know about the award.

Okay, I can handle most of that. First off, Alannah, thank you again. :)

Now, seven things? I think I can manage that.

Seven things about me


  1. My once-in-a-lifetime cross-country road trip was done with a toddler in tow. While I was pregnant. During the summer. [1]

  2. When I was thirteen, my favorite book was a Klingon-English dictionary. I bought it at a used bookstore, and promptly fell in love.

  3. I do not, at this point in my life, know one word of Klingon. (Okay, maybe Qapla’. But seriously, that is it. And I had to look up the spelling on that one. So one word of Klingon. Sort of.)

  4. I know what the terms rack focus, 180° rule, and match cut mean. (What do I do with this knowledge? Next to nothing, at the moment.)

  5. I know the difference between a relational database and an object-oriented database. (And what do I do with this knowledge? Also next to nothing, at the moment.)

  6. I can, and do, cook varenyky. From scratch. [2]

  7. I am a Pastafarian. The Eight I’d Really Rather You Didn’ts inform my ethics. Which goes a long way toward accounting for my flimsy moral standards. Ramen.

Passing along the award

You guys, I am just going to be hopeless with this part. And cop out a bit. (Not helping me is that a number of the people I would want to give this award to have it already — awesome!) So, here’s what I’m going to do. I’m taking a page from Em the Merit Badger‘s book. Em invites her blog readers to say why they have earned a merit badge, and then just go for it. I’ve also seen other bloggers freely re-award blog awards they’ve received. That seems the best solution to me. So here we go:

If you are a writer or are engaged in a writing-related endeavor, and if are going places — tell me the how, why, or where! Right here in the comments. Then this award belongs to you, and you can post it on your blog (and cop out or not with it).

So, who is going places with their writing? And what does that mean to you? To me it means I’m going to keep working on my MS and get it ready to submit to agents.

Up Next

I do actually have a Word Wednesday entry for today. I’m finishing it up now, and I’ll post it later this evening.






Q: Why was “I’m way too into footnotes” not on my list of seven things you don’t know about me?* A:


1: I don’t do things by half. I did not, however, have to drive. Here’s how it went, between me and the Spouse of Awesomeness (SA), on the road trip:


First thing in the morning, every morning:
Me: So, I thought I could drive today.
SA: Yeah, okay. But I’ll take the first shift.

Two or three stops later, every day:
Me: So, I thought I could drive this afternoon.
SA: Yeah, okay, just let me go a few more miles.


And so on. And yes, we did this everyday. Now, I hate driving. Hate. The Spouse of Awesomeness knows this. I didn’t have to drive once while preggers, in the way-too-hot-for-this-creature-of-the-coasts middle of country during the summer, on our moving-to-California-road-trip. I mentioned the “awesomeness” part, right? Also, as it turns out? The Spouse of Awesomeness can parallel park a moving van. I know.
Awesome.


2: My fav is with potato filling, topped with lots of caramelized onions and a bit of sour cream. Yum!


* Bonus Footnote: I am a
nerd. We’re all clear on that one, too, right?


Responses

  1. Parallel park a moving van? My jaw literally dropped.

  2. Hee! As did mine. (Now, it was a little moving van. We didn’t have much stuff back then. But still. It was something to see!)

  3. Aw Casey, you certainly deserved the award :-)
    May I say, loved the option you chose inspired by the Merit Badger. I didn’t pass on my second award for the same reason as yours. I’d already given it to the people I wanted. Great idea.

    The road trip and the spouse of awesomeness sound amazing. I’m impressed. Love the fact you bought a klingon dictionary. Now, I’m rather curious, how come you know those film/editing terms? Hmmm….very cool.

    Pastafarian…loved that and the varenyky…yummy.

  4. Yay! Thank you, Alannah! You are so kind and supportive. :D

    The road trip was wonderful! Oh, and the spouse wants me to point out that the moving van wasn’t that little: it was 24 ft, with a separate cab, just not one of those giant ones for moving a whole house. Still very big for parallel parking!

    Klingon was fun. I was completely fascinated by constructed languages, and I loved having guide to it. Oh, and I’ve done some editing (nothing exciting), and I’ve taken film theory and production classes as well. Makes watching films more interesting, if nothing else.

    Mmm, pasta. I think varenyky counts as pasta, too. Boiled dough? Pasta pockets! I’m flexible. ;)

  5. Congrats! I really enjoyed the 7 things about you. Sounds like it must have been some roadtrip!

  6. Thank you! Glad you enjoyed them. I had fun thinking of seven. The road trip was wild, in a I-should-write-a-book-someday kind of a way. Maybe. ;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

