Posted by: Casey Lybrand | June 25, 2010

An open letter to California in June

Dear California,

You know I love you. I really do. And you know I don’t go in much for complaining about the weather. I wrote a whole post about it last month. [1]

I just wanted to say: It is June, and I am wearing a sweater, and my hands are cold. I am not complaining! Just making a note of it: June, sweater, cold.

Just thought you might like to know that, California. You know. In case you were wondering, “Is it cold enough for June?” The answer is yes. Yes it is. It is cold enough, California. Try to keep that in mind.

With kindest regards and warmest, warmest thoughts,
A Devoted but Shivering Californian




Because even my letters have footnotes:
1: . . . no, I still have not unpacked my privilege related to complaining about the weather, and whether or not I care when people do, though I am still thinking about it.


Responses

  1. Most amusing, I was thinking a similar thought last month as it has been a rather cold Spring in London, then again, it’s England and not exactly the sunniest warmest place on the planet. Here’s hoping July is better for you!

  2. Thank you! I’m sure July will be lovely. June has been lovely as well. It’s just that I was sitting here typing, and I thought, “I should go put on a sweater.” And then I thought, “Hey, wait, that can’t be right! It’s June!” So really no complaining, just laughing!

    I have been to London only once, years ago. It was during the month August, and I remember it as being sunny and bright. (Maybe I was just so excited to be there! And I know it’s not like that year round.) I can’t remember whether it was warm or cool, or even whether I wore a jacket or not. (Did I mention excited?)

    I’m sending warm thoughts your way!

  3. The warm thoughts worked, it’s sunny and quite hot today. Nice to look out the window but a bit too warm for me to venture out.

    August can be definitely be warm sometimes or perhaps we were having a particularly good summer when you were here. Normally, we get a few days of glorious weather, then clouds, rain and so on at least it helps to have variety, that way we can moan about it daily (one of our favourite past times is to whinge and moan about the weather)

  4. Haha Casey, maybe I should write an open letter to Istanbul- June began with 1000 degrees and now it’s all cold, rainy and not nice! I am wearing a sweater. And socks. And my hair gets BIG when it rains… :)

  5. Agatha,

    I’m glad the warm thoughts worked! It’s pleasant here today, but I’m staying in to write.

    Lua,

    You should write that letter to Istanbul! Clearly it works. See, after my little letter, it’s going to be nice today here: 70F/21C, mostly sunny. Almost perfect!* Of course, I am going to stay inside and write all day. (Maybe I’ll steal outside for a little walk later!)

    I hope it warms up for you, and I wish you good hair days!

    * Hence my reluctance to complain too much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

