Posted by: Casey Lybrand | June 22, 2010

Recipe: Oeufs des melons

I love my CSA. Everything they send is a wonderful experience, even when it’s an adventure. Especially when it’s an adventure.

I have a problem with only one type of produce they send. Melons. (Got a little shudder just typing it.) Here, I turned my shudder into a poem:




Melon

I do not like to touch you with my hands.
I do not want your sickly scent.
When you are around I do not allow
my fingers to find my mouth or my eyes.

I do not want you in me.

It’s true
you do not burn my skin
as you did my mother’s,
but she was allergic.

I can chop you up;
I do not wish to eat you.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .




There, I feel better already. Still, I must find a way to use the melon the CSA sends every week this time of year. Here is my favorite traditional recipe:

Oeufs des melons

Ingredients

  • Ripe melon, any variety of cantaloupe or honeydew
  • Chickens (hens work best for this recipe)

Directions

  1. Slice melon in half, remove seeds, and place seeds in a large bowl. Remove pulp from the rind; add rind to the bowl. Note: There may be someone around who would like to eat the pulp (that’s the part between the seeds and the rind). If so, give it to them. If not, include it in the next step.
  2. Take the bowl of seeds and rind (and optional pulp) outside to your chickens. Toss contents in their general direction. Supplement with other scraps and chicken feed.
  3. [This step happens inside the chicken.]
  4. Tasty eggs!





And there you have it. A tried and true method for turning something you do not want to eat into something you do. Assuming you want to eat tasty eggs, which I will take over melon any day.


Responses

  1. Melons and chickens? It sure sounds original- I’ll have to give that one a try :)
    And I love the poem, “I can chop you up; I do not wish to eat you.” Hilarious! :)

  2. Eggs from melons! It’s not original . . . it’s a very traditional recipe! You should try it — how would your dogs feel about some fowl companionship? ;)

    I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. It was fun to write. And cathartic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

