Posted by: Casey Lybrand | June 4, 2010

It’s only 5,000 words . . .

I wrote quite a bit today (for me!). And here’s how word count tends to go on a very good day:

When I was a little shy of 500 words this morning, I was sure there was no way I would make it to 1,000. [1]

I kept going anyway.

I wrote a bit at a time, as I could throughout the day. If I do this, usually I can make it to 1,000. If I just don’t give up! But today, a scene spoke to me, and this afternoon in one writing session I found I had 2,000 words more than when I’d started. So I kept at it. [2]

When I was at about 4,000 words, I thought: Another 1,000? Make it to 5,000 today? Psssh! No problem.

5,218!

Over three scenes: the one that was next-in-line, one I had marked to go back to, and a completely new one from much farther along in the book, which I will have to figure out how (or if) to work in. But that’s editing. Right now, I’m writing! [3]

1: 1,000 is a good daily word count goal for me.
2: Off and on — I cannot overstate the reality of RL!
3: And footnoting. I also cannot overstate the reality of footnoting.


Responses

  1. I’m glad I got to witness the final stretch live! So exciting– and you even beat your goal!

  2. Sounds like you had a fantastic day fro writing. I had a goal of 2000 words but made it just under 3000 by the time I tidied up the scenes I’d been working on. Such a good feeling. Wishing you luck with your writing.

  3. It was a really good day! You were so awesome to cheer me on! I have writer-happiness right now.

  4. Thank you, Cassandra. Congrats on overshooting your goal as well! It is a good feeling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

